It’s a Brake-through.

Yeah, okay. That’s a cheesy title, but it actually fits.

First, though, I got a lot of demolition done over the summer. I have the dash removed and a good bit of the stuff underneath it taken out and sitting in the back seat. I still have to take out the HVAC system and see if I can get that to fit in the Supra. I also have to finish pulling the wiring harness out.

Dash_guts

I took the advice of another dismantler/repurposer and labeled everything I could while taking it apart. You can see the label maker in the back there. You’ll also see a couple of the labels later on.

I pulled the drive train and spent a lot of time (too much, really) fiddling with how I was going to make the coupler and motor adapter plate.

Ready_to_lift

No_PDM

No_Inverter

No_Inverter_2

No_Motor

Motor

It doesn’t look all that big, but it weighs a lot. I didn’t put it on a scale but I have trouble lifting it and wouldn’t want to carry it very far.

Motor_Trans_lineup

Testing the alignment. It appears that however long my coupler ends up being, that’s how thick the adapter plate will be. Pretty handy, if you ask me.

Do you remember how much I said I got for taking all that ICE scrap to the recyclers? $25, to refresh your memory. Well, after wasting a bunch of time trying to draft a coupler in DesignCAD 3D Max, I realized that if I cut the end off of a crank, the biggest part of the machining would be already done. So I found a used crank from a guy up the road and paid 40 bucks for it. The irony is killing me.

After more hours than I want to recount, this is what I needed. I still need to get rid of the rest of the balance weights and round it out some more. I’m going to get someone else to do the actual machining since my lathe is too small to turn something this big, and I’ve never had much success turning steel or iron. I have never tried to cut an inside spline, either. I don’t want to mess this up!

Crank_end_2

I’m a little concerned about the oiling galleries but I’m hopeful that they’ll be okay.

Crank_end_1

Now on to the title reference.

I originally thought I could somehow shoehorn the Leaf brake/throttle pedal assembly into the Supra. After taking the assemblies out of both cars and setting them side-by-side, I knew that wasn’t going to happen.

two_pedals_side_by

two_pedals

The other problem was getting the Leaf master cylinder to fit on the Supra. The holes were completely different. I realized that after drilling and cutting a bunch of holes in the firewall.

Firewall

There had to be a better way. While talking to a friend of mine who’s a real gear head, he suggested cutting a chunk out of the Leaf firewall and welding it in place on the Supra. Looking at the way the pedals were shaped, I really didn’t think that was a good idea. But it did start the train of thought that lead me to the solution.

Leaf_Brake_Adaptor

This is the bracket that bolts on to the end of the Leaf master cylinder. It’s kind of like they plan on using the same mechanism on different platforms. Great news for me.

Supra_Master_Cyl

Nobody’s gonna want this piece of junk so it became a donor part. I cut off the section holding the bolts that run through the firewall.

Machined_adaptor

I machined a couple pockets for the backside of the bolts, cut the ears off the adapter, and drill and tapped some holes then bolted it all together. Finally, I stuck some weather stripping on there to help seal out noise and drafts but I don’t have any pictures of that.

Brake_refit_2

Brake_refit_3

It fits and there’s a lot of room for wiring and plumbing. Man, that makes me happy. The clutch master cylinder is there on the bottom right.

I still have a few things to figure out on the pedal side, though. I have figured out how to mount the two Leaf switches (no pun intended) onto the Supra assembly, but I need to figure out how to mount the regen pot on there. I cut the bracket for that off the other day but haven’t found a good way to get it mounted in the right place or how to get it to interact with the brake pedal yet. At the same time I need to figure out how to mount the throttle pedal. In the Leaf it’s mounted on the brake assembly but, again, that won’t fit in the Supra. I have a couple ideas simmering in the back of my mind but they aren’t quite ready to test out.

That’s all I have for now. I need to pick up the pace on this since my CRX is in starting to fall apart. It’s burning oil like a really bad diesel and it’s gotten so embarrassing to drive, I’ve actually started driving the Durango. The fact that it fouls the number one plug in about a weeks time tells me it needs more work and attention than I want to give it. I think I’m going to have to do a ring job on at least one cylinder. I have the parts but it’s starting to get cold and I will have to do it outside. Wah. The Durango gets less than half the MPG that the CRX does so it’s an expensive trade off. I’m starting to ramble so it’s time to send this to the printers. See ya next time.

    • marty
    • December 27th, 2015

    WoW you have made a lot of Progress. Thanks for continuing to post I must get by here more often.

    • marty
    • December 27th, 2015

    You are going to take all the Systems in the Leaf and put them in the frame and body of the Supra keeping the Supra Interior? What’s the goal here Dr. Frankenstein? This is fascinating to me that your are undertaken this project.

    • The goal is really simple. Get rid of the gas motor and everything that goes with it – dripping oil, fouled spark plugs, clogged air cleaner. I was going to buy individual parts and pieces and batteries, etc, until I started looking at the Leaf. Even if I don’t use everything (air bags?), it should be relatively easy to get the parts I do want to use to function. To answer one of the Facebook questions, it is a shame that the batteries won’t fit nice an neat under the body, but I will be able to spot them around the car in an effort to maintain or improve balance.

    • marty
    • December 28th, 2015
  1. Great project and I really like your blog. Where did you find a shop manual for the Leaf? I’ve been batting zero on my searches. Thx. Jack

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

